A BAKER'S DOZEN OF BOOKS/STORIES TO READ IF YOU LIKED 'THE MARTIAN' MOVIE 🎥📚

I just saw THE MARTIAN. It's amazing...funny, moving and science-y. If you see and also love this movie, here are 13 things I humbly suggest for your to-be-read.
  1. 1.
    The Moon is Hell! By John W. Campbell
    The Martian, but on the moon. And written in 1950. Astounding book.
  2. 2.
    Solaris by Stanislaw Lem
    Sort of just an amazing, lesser-known classic about space exploration and the essence of humanity.
  3. 3.
    "The Man Who Lost the Sea" by Theodore Sturgeon
    An amazing story that I won't ruin for you by giving away even one detail. FIND AND READ ASAP.
  4. 4.
    The Road by Cormac McCarthy
    BRUTAL, post-apocalyptic novel about a father and son trying to make it in a seemingly snuffed-out world. I read this while starting to get separated/divorced. I do not recommend this reading strategy, however.
  5. 5.
    Robinson Crusoe by Daniel Deoe
    The classic survival story about a dude who survives for thirty years on a wee island in The Caribbean.
  6. 6.
    Lord of the Flies by William Golding
    Group of tweener British boys survive/"go native" after their plane crashes near an uninhabited island in the South Pacific.
  7. 7.
    South: The Endurance Expedition by Ernest Shackleton
    Story of how Shackleton and his crew survived for two years on an expedition-gone-bad to try and be the first to land-cross Antarctica.
  8. 8.
    Alive: The Story of the Andes Survivors by Piers Paul Reed
    Details how 16 people survived (which included eating the dead) for months after their plane crashed high in the Andes Mountains.
  9. 9.
    "To Build a Fire" by Jack London
    Guy tries to survive a cold, winter day near the Yukon Trail. Of all stories that make me feel cold when I read it, this one tops the list.
  10. 10.
    Island of the Blue Dolphins by Scott O'Dell
    Story of a girl who survives for a few years alone on a little island off the coast of California in the 1800s.
  11. 11.
    I Am Legend by Richard Matheson
    Started the modern post-apocalypse zombie genre. Story of a lone, human survivor in a world devastated by a global, man-made pandemic.
  12. 12.
    Enemy Mine by Barry B. Longyear
    The story of two mortal enemies who need to cooperate in order to survive together on a hostile, alien world.
  13. 13.
    The Martian by Andy Weir
    :) You know. In case ya ain't read the actual novel yet. It's great.