IF YOU LIKE TO READ, YOU'LL LOVE THIS LIST

  1. I don't mean to brag, but:
  2. I have my library card number memorized
  3. And my OB confessed she reads my blog to get book recommendations.
  4. So let me give you some book recommendations from the books I read this year.
  5. We're going to do this "designer imposter" style. (If you ____, you'll love _______)
  6. LET'S DO IT.
  7. If your newborn wakes up every two hours and you think you might lose your mind, you'll love...
    The Light Between Oceans by ML Stedman. Full disclosure: I was not a fan of the writing style in this book. The dialogue felt really juvenile. But! The plot is legit and it deals with loss of and longing for a baby, and I happened to read it when I had a newborn who didn't sleep well. I truly felt it helped me gain some perspective and actually feel grateful when my baby woke up in the middle of the night.
  8. If you like jewelry, you'll love...
    Unbecoming by Rebecca Scherm and The Clasp by @sloane_crosley. Both of these books were fun (Unbecoming was more of a serious thriller with some excellent pacing; The Clasp was a milder thriller but really, really funny (Because Sloane Crosley)), set partially in Paris, and described jewelry and the jewelry business in a way I found super interesting and, at times, beautiful. I highly recommend both!
  9. If you have ever said "all lives matter," you'll love...
    "Between the World and Me" by Ta-Nehisi Coates. Actually, you might not love this. At first it will probably make you angry. You might not want to listen. But you should listen, and you should learn, and maybe the world will be a slightly better place.
  10. If you've been staring at a blank page, pen in hand, you'll love...
    Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert. I'm always wondering why I even create things, there's so much noise, in the world, my stuff sucks anyway, etc, etc, etc. This speaks to that. I listened to this audiobook but think it would be better as an actual book that you can touch and hold and scribble in and refer to.
  11. If you need a reason to stop saying things like "I want a pair of round glasses that make me look like a Nazi" in the Warby Parker store, you'll love...
    So You've Been Publicly Shamed by Jon Ronson. Gosh, this is really specific isn't it? After reading this fascinating book about the current culture of Internet shaming, I was with someone who said the above quote and was able to give him a very thorough lecture about watching what you say in public AND I correctly predicted the cycle of events following the Cecil the Lion scandal so I was feeling pretty good about myself after this book.
  12. If you could listen to Aziz Ansari talk for hours and hours, you'll love...
    The audio version of Modern Romance. I feel like most people on this app already know the gist, but I am specifically recommending the audio version.
  13. If you have a new highlighter with lots of ink, you'll love...
    Dept of Speculation by Jenny Offil - a collection of beautiful thoughts woven together to tell a familiar and sad story of marriage gone wrong.
  14. If you are fascinated by wondering what we'll all be doing when the world ends, you'll love...
    Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel. 🙌💯 FAVORITE BOOK OF THE YEAR ALERT 🚨 this was sad and beautiful and amazing and I read it in January and can't get it out of my head.
  15. If you wish you could crawl inside the brain of a comedian, you'll love...
    Sick in the Head by Judd Apatow. This was one of my favorite books of the year. I feel like you all know the premise? Interviews with comedians?
  16. If you just ordered something from Amazon Prime Now and followed Ahmad's progress from the warehouse to your door on your phone and you're feeling a little weird about it, you'll love...
    ... The Circle, an almost apocalyptic story about how the Internet and social media are probably ruining everything. I had a lot of issues with this book -- I'm pretty sure Dave Eggers saw the news about Amazon making buttons you can put in your house to reorder stuff, got really angry and aggressively typed this novel in three days with little regard for character and dialogue -- but it was still an interesting look at the Internet and our lives and the future.
  17. If you need perspective on your commute, you'll love...
    The audio version of The Short and Tragic Life of Robert Peace. Peace grew up in the worst neighborhood in Newark, graduated from Yale, and this is his story. I've been thinking about this book for months, and although I'm a little conflicted about who is telling and potentially profiting from Peace's life... I'm just glad the story was told.
  18. If you're in the mood to solve a mystery you'll love...
    Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng. Runner ups that I didn't love, but you might: Disclaimer by Renee Knight and The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins