I love reading books written by comedians. If you know any good ones that are not on this list, please do let me know! I'd love to add more books to my collection.
  1. Aziz Ansari - Modern Romance
    7d1b8e4f 8faa 4562 accc 5dded9b05f8a
    It's not really a comedy book, though it is quite funny at times. Ansari teamed up with sociologist Eric Klinenberg to do research on what is like to date in the age of smartphones, social media, and dating apps. It is fascinating to read and at times painfully familiar. I very much recommend it.
  2. Richard Ayoade - Ayoade on Ayoade: A Cinematic Odyssey
    C8cb6bb3 3f0e 4680 8594 814408901306
    A quite unusual book, written by a quite unusual man. In this book, Richard Ayoade interviews a version of himself, while also commenting on his writing at the same time. It's completely absurd, but also absolutely hilarious and right up my alley. If you love Richard Ayoade, you will definitely love this book.
  3. Amy Poehler - Yes Please
    1776304b c12b 4130 8da4 24475a73c173
    Amy Poehler's memoir gives a fascinating (and, obviously, hilarious) look into her life and career. It's a charming and fun read. If you love Amy Poehler, UCB, SNL, and Parks and Rec (or even just one of those), you'll love this book.
  4. Mindy Kaling - Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns)
    C74f511a 7e62 4856 a7ca 0132ed088347
    An interesting and funny look into the life of @mindy. I finally read it over the summer, and it made me like her even more than I already did. I loaned someone my copy, so I don't have an actual picture of it.
  5. Mindy Kaling - Why Not Me?
    8d20ea3e 1ee3 45a0 9ca9 8a5d3adffc7f
    The follow-up to her previous book. I just got it for Christmas, and I'm very excited to get started.
  6. Bo Burnham - Egghead
    Cc6a728e af19 4d95 a14d 2d7ae3e32ffc
    A collection of poems by one of the most talented and refreshing comics out there. Even if you're not that into poetry, I think you'll very much enjoy it.
  7. B.J. Novak - One More Thing: Stories and Other Stories
    4922d9f1 1c34 463e b8cf ed04583060ba
    Obviously I own a copy of @bjnovak's amazing bundle of short stories, and have read it, too. It's highly recommended, and should possibly be mandatory for every list maker on this app.
  8. Demetri Martin - This Is A Book
    741c2580 eab0 4191 b2c6 3b75a5435ec2
    A very unique book. Demetri Martin's mind is an incredible one. This book is filled with short jokes, short stories, and drawings of his. Absolute highlight: a 500-word perfect palindrome (so it's exactly the same front-to-back and back-to-front) that's also a poem. It's one of the most impressive things I've ever seen. (This one is also borrowed by a friend)
  9. Demetri Martin - Point Your Face At This
    Df518903 d88d 41e9 8430 618392b6c256
    This book contains 288 pages of clever and funny drawings by Demetri Martin. Definitely worth checking out.
  10. John Cleese - So, Anyway...
    468396a2 73d9 40c1 91d8 76f557b37040
    John Cleese's autobiography. Unfortunately I haven't gotten around to reading this one yet, but it's definitely on my list for 2016. It seems like a must-read for fans of Monty Python, Fawlty Towers, and comedy in general.
  11. Kelly Oxford - Everything is Perfect When You're A Liar
    7e0b70b8 eb77 4e3f 8083 43f0e3c489fe
    I'm not completely sure whether she calls herself a comedian or not, but this book is hilarious all the way through, so I wanted to add it to this list. I read it in about 2 days when I was in the hospital after a surgeryblast year, and it definitely cheered me up.
  12. The Daily Show with Jon Stewart - Earth: The Book
    A95323bb e87c 48bd ad23 7107169dd775
    Written as a guide on everything Earth and human for aliens who have taken over our planet. It is absolutely hysterical, and it makes me miss Jon Stewart even more. John Oliver and Wyatt Cenac also worked on it, among other staff writers.
  13. Harris Wittels - Humblebrag
    B05a3250 963d 42ee a854 b5b965ffa686
    A hilarious compilation of people humblebragging, by the late great Harris Wittels, who also coined the word. It's incredibly funny to read, especially because of his commentary. Wittels was a writer on Parks and Recreation, and also worked on Master of None, before passing away way too soon.
  14. Patton Oswalt - Zombie Spaceship Wasteland
    87d74de9 6e39 4964 9a4e 3667d49d0e32
    A funny and inventive memoir by a great comic. It offers insight in his way of thinking and how he got started as a stand up, and contains a bunch of fun and creative things you might not find in a run of the mill memoir.
  15. Viv Groskop - I Laughed, I Cried
    24e9099e e004 4ad7 b170 0598f8ca78ee
    A very interesting book by Viv Groskop, a British woman who always wanted to be a comedian, but never got around to doing it. When she's pushing 40, and has 3 kids and a husband, she decides to go for it and sets herself the goal of doing 100 gigs in 100 night, to decide whether she can do it. It gives great insight in the British comedy scene and what it's like to start/work in it as a woman.
  16. David Mitchell - Thinking About It Only Makes It Worse (And Other Lessons From Modern Life)
    D6b0b4d9 bc6c 48eb bfd3 b355fb8eae9d
    David Mitchell is a British panel show all star (QI, The Big Fat Quiz, Would I Lie To You, and many others), and has made hilarious tv series with his comedy partner Robert Webb (That Webb & Mitchell Look, Peep Show). He wrote this book about lessons he's learned from modern life. I got it for Christmas, and will be starting it soon.
  17. Jon Richardson - It's Not Me, It's You!
    1851fd00 38de 4fa3 bd64 3f1733d41865
    Another very funny British comic. He is a team captain on the panel show 8 Out of 10 Cats, a great stand up, and a big fan of tidiness. He writes about looking for a significant other who shares his (mildly OCD-) values.
  18. Amanda McCall & Ben Schwartz - Maybe Your Leg Will Grow Back!: Looking on the Bright Side with Baby Animals
    161a9a56 0fe3 4b7e 9ec0 2eab38e1e121
    This hilarious little book contains postcards with encouraging 'look on the bright side' messages and pictures of baby animals on them. Tip: they are funniest when you imagine Ben Schwartz is reading them (actually, you don't have to imagine for some of them: http://youtu.be/ymhfPbD31jo )
  19. Jimmy Fallon with the writers of Late Night - Thank You Notes
    2448c665 67fb 4992 8d7f b7974d2097b9
    A collection of jokes from Fallon's Thank You Notes segment on Late Night with Jimmy Fallon, years before he took over the Tonight Show. Well worth it for fans of the show.
  20. Jimmy Fallon with the writers of Late Night - Thank You Notes 2
    A44c9a3b bc28 4c10 9a72 f91854ab29db
    Even more 'Thank You Notes' jokes from Late Night with Jimmy Fallon. This one even includes a sound chip with the music from that segment, to set the mood.
  21. Charlie Booker - The Hell of it All
    655eef1f 2a76 4225 9717 110d2296ea4f
    A collection of British comedian Charlie Booker's funny and scathing columns from The Guardian. I've read a bunch of it, but not all (yet).
  22. Bill Maher - The New New Rules
    87c516b2 3468 4e06 aa4a 3e42adb6ad01
    A collection of jokes from Real Time with Bill Maher's New Rules. It also includes a few jokes they didn't end up using on the show, so if you're a fan of Real Time, this is definitely for you.